16002 Crawford Creek Rd, Crawford Bay, BC V0B 1E0, CAN    
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Nancy Galloway, Andre Laporte

Description

Circa 1912. Set against a magical forest on 50 acres, this English manor house boasts gables, multi-paned windows and a steep red roof. It was built for a member of the Wedgwood china family. Favorite spots inclu...


Write a review

Quiet retreat

We spent a week with our little dog in one of the very comfortable cabins on the property. The property was beautiful and we had many walks enjoying the flowers ,woods and historical markers around the manor. Kootenay Lake is a beautiful area and the Manor is well located for day trips in the area and across the Lake. The cabin exceeded our expectations - we did not need to supply anything. We look forward to returning and having another rejuvenating stay. The hosts were helpful and made great suggestions for touring and restaurants.
Jon Sperry

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Very relaxing

Loved our 4 day stay at the Manor. Andre, Nancy and even the dogs were excellent hosts, making us feel right at home. Socializing on the deck in the evening with them was one of many high lights. The breakfasts were filling enough that we skipped lunch. The room and bed were extremely comfortable. Look forward to returning one day.
Barry Napier

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful getaway

We were a small group of five who thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay at Wedgewood. The front veranda was so relaxing, the rooms so gorgeous and Andre & Nancy were fabulous and welcome hosts. I don't enjoy pretense or stuffiness, and was pleased that there was none of that sort of thing at Wedgewood. Very homey feel, but so very picturesque, inside and out ! The breakfasts were scrumptious and the dogs were welcoming. The hummingbirds were out of this world. Made it all very difficult to actually go into town - nicer to stay on the porch!
kate lafferty
Calgary, AB

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Peacefulness in the pines

Such a lovely place to stay. Friendly and accommodating hosts, great food and strong coffee, beautiful setting, comfy rooms, and best of all a pile of sleeping dog on the front porch just like home. Make sure to walk up to the waterfall - the dog will show you the way and ensure you don't get lost! For some reason I can't rate the location below. I give it 5 hearts too. Lots to do and see on the East Shore, nice restaurants nearby too
Kath McGuinness

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Excellent Vacation spot

We had a great time in the robins nest cabin. Nancy and Andre were fabulous hosts and really made our stay great. Lots of love for this place!
Swad Blackwell

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Will definitely go back.

Clean, Comfortable, Accommodating Host and Hostess, excellent food, wonderful views, places to sit and walks to go on. Everything you need as a base for exploring the Kootenays and/or relaxing in one spot for a few days. I stayed in the Sun Room specifically because it has a huge soaker tub and there was plenty of clean, clear, hot water to fill it up Afternoon snacks were lovely too. Host and Hostess are great conversationalists and have many interesting experiences to talk about from their travels and also know a lot about the area to help you enjoy your stay as much as possible. I got to snoop around in all the rooms during my stay there and each room has a different feel and theme that are done so well that I hope to enjoy each room at some point in my life.
Joanne Ferris
Canyon, BC

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Ms.

I stayed two nights at the Wedgwood Manor in April 2014 and really enjoyed myself. The Manor and its setting are stunning. It is furnished in great style without being over the top or fussy. Andre and Nancy are warm, gracious and fun hosts who go way beyond the call of duty to make you feel at home. Mika and Lucy are also charmers. The breakfasts are varied and tasty. I highly recommend staying in the Manor and checking out the East Shore of Kootenay Lake.
Louise Taylor

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Rural Retreat

Our stay at Robin's Nest cabin on the Wedgwood Estate was a delight. This quality cabin was beautiful. It was well equipped and we enjoyed the bespoke thoughtful features. The tranquil setting in the Manor grounds was relaxing and the well cared for garden around the Manor is lovely. Being able to explore the grounds and use the badminton and croquet facilities enhanced our stay. We can definitely recommend the cabin for a family's rural retreat or couple's romantic break. Family from England.
Ruth Mallard

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Romantic delight

Not sure I really want to share this secret discovery....however, anyone seeking the romance of a by gone era should stay at this beautiful inn. There is no chance of disappoint for people who love lush green gardens, birds' song, the sound of a gurgling stream outside your window, fascinating personal libraries, interesting conversation and gourmet breakfasts.
KATIE PACAS
Canmore, AB

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

In an Enchanted Forest...

Wedgewood Manor Country Inn is exceedingly romantic--even if you've been married 37 years! The Inn is excellent in every way. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to use the soaker tub.
Barbara Phillips
Vancouver, BC

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Do not seek the ordinary...

because divine is the word. Join a conversation to keep you thinking, reading, listening in. Be silent or talk. Laugh. Contemplate nature, life, worldliness, immortality. Have a bit of port. Why not? Mortals at Wedgwood manor enjoy it all and more. You'll be in good company here. Culture hour starts at a civilized time of morning, right after creme fraiche on berries. Starbelly Festival and local people all a highlight on this trip to the sublime and quotidian combined. Or shall I write la quotidienne?
Flying M

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - Bring
an umbrella for a sunshade at the beach. Yes, it's beautiful too. Enjoy!
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Relaxing in the Robin's nest

We spent an entire week relaxing at the Wedgwood Manor, in particular the Robin's Nest cabin. It was truly relaxing and peaceful. The cabin was well equipped and very comfortable (loft bedroom with queen size bed and tub!). All the amenities required were present (fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher, all necessary cooking utensils, dinnerware, etc) even a BBQ on the patio. The cabin itself was very clean, cozy and well built. We spent our days investigating the Crawford Bay area and its various beaches, enjoying the spectacular scenery as well as all artisan shops in town. If you're a golfer you'll be in your element. Our hosts, Nancy and Andre, were exceptionally kind and gracious in making our stay all that more enjoyable. Even our dog had a great time! I would recommend these accommodations to anyone looking to get away for a great get-away experience. We will be back.
Barry Barclay

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

A fascinating Journey!

July 2013. My wife and I travelled to B.C. this summer and needed a place to stay for five nights. Someone recommended the Wedgwood Manor in Crawford Bay, situated in the Purcell mountain range on the eastern shore of Kootenay Lake, in the Southern Interior of British Columbia. Being used to relatively cold façades of hotels but being people persons, we decided to subject ourselves to the inevitable interaction with ours hosts. That is, first thing in the morning for breakfast. Were we in for a surprise, not only that breakfast was served on the balcony overlooking the Kokanee Glacier, then to a poetic recital of a menu that totally changed every day. Breakfasts that started with a bowl of freshly picked fruit which quite possibly became a major ingredient of the bread that was baked in the kitchen no more than an hour prior. Nancy let her creative mind dictate what would be served every day and allowed her sense of perfectionism ensure a perfectly orchestrated mélange of various servings. In fact, we experienced five breakfasts that were totally different. When suggesting that we were coming back next year and stay as long as it will take to see a breakfast repeat, André, Nancy’s husband, warned us that we better be prepared for a long stay. The first thing that we noticed when we first arrived, is the ability for Nancy and André to judge how much personal care their guests are willing to consent to. Does one need her or his space first and might eventually warm-up to special treatment or one who embraces being welcomed and helped with her or his baggage. It comes as no surprise that being retired diplomats, Nancy and André know to what extent to indulge people or give them her or his space. All one has to do is show some interest and Nancy and André will be pleased to share their infinite experience of dealing with some of the most challenging parts of the world as diplomats, entertain you with anecdotes upon anecdotes while sipping their favourite brandy. All of this served in both official languages of Canada, if you so chose. Nothing said about the fabulous manor. This beautiful home built in 1910 as the retirement home of a Royal Navy officer, Senior Commander James Matthew Harrison and his wife, Lady Lucy Caroline Wedgwood. Best to go on the following website for the whole fascinating story: http://www.wedgwoodcountryinn.com/the-manor/history1.htm . Would we recommend the Manor as a destination for your next vacation? Absolutely however, we want to make sure that space is available for us in 2014. Gaétan and Elizabeth Marcheterre, St. Catharines, Ontario. Juillet 2013. Ma conjointe et moi sommes allés en Colombie-Britannique cet été et avait besoin d'un endroit pour héberger pour cinq nuits. Quelqu'un nous a recommandé le Wedgwood Manor à Crawford Bay, situé dans la chaîne de montagnes Purcell, sur la rive est du lac Kootenay, dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Étant habitué aux façades relativement froides des hôtels mais, par-contre étant des gens plutôt ouverts et avec de l’entregent, nous avons décidé de nous soumettre à l'interaction inévitable que les hôtes d’une auberge pourraient nous offrir. Autrement dit, la première chose le matin en nous rendant au petit déjeuner. Avons-nous eu une surprise. Non seulement que le petit déjeuner était servi sur le balcon surplombant le glacier Kokanee, nous avons été séduits par un récital poétique d'un menu qui change à chaque jour. Petit déjeuner qui débutait avec un bol de fruits fraîchement cueillis. Les mêmes fruits qui devenaient fort probablement l’ingrédient principal du pain qui a été cuit dans la cuisine pas plus d'une heure auparavant. Nancy laisse son esprit créatif dicter ce qui est servi chaque jour et a permis à son sens du perfectionnisme d’assurer un mélange parfaitement orchestré des mets variés. En fait, nous avons connu cinq petits déjeuners qui étaient totalement différents. Lorsque nous avions suggéré que nous revenions l'année prochaine et rester aussi longtemps qu'il faudra pour voir une répétition du même petit déjeuner, André, le conjoint de Nancy, nous a avertis que nous soyons mieux d’être prêts à un long séjour. La première chose que nous avons remarqué quand nous sommes arrivés, c'est l’aptitude de Nancy et André de juger jusqu’à quel point leurs visiteurs sont prêts à accepter d’être traités aux petits oignons ou non. Doit-on créer plus d’espace à nos nouveaux arrivés, eux qui pourraient éventuellement être plus ouverts à un traitement spécial ou ceux qui embrassent l’idée d’être accueilli et aidé avec ses bagages. Il n'est pas surprenant qu’étant des diplomates à la retraite, Nancy et André savent très bien jusqu’à quel point ils peuvent gâter les gens ou leur donner plus d’espace. Tout ce qu'on a à faire est de montrer un certain intérêt et Nancy et André se feront un plaisir de partager leurs expériences infinies après avoir vécu, en tant que diplomates, dans certains coins les plus difficiles au monde. Ils peuvent facilement vous divertir avec des multiples anecdotes tout en sirotant leur brandy préféré. Tout cela servi dans les deux langues officielles du Canada, à votre choix. Rien dit à propos du fabuleux manoir. Cette belle maison construite en 1910. La maison de retraite d'un officier de la Royal Navy, Commandant Supérieur James Matthew Harrison et son épouse, Lady Lucy Caroline Wedgwood. Préférable d'aller sur leur site web pour découvrir cette histoire fascinante : http://www.wedgwoodcountryinn.com/the-manor/history1.htm . Recommanderions-nous le manoir comme destination pour vos prochaines vacances? Absolument cependant, nous voulons faire en sorte qu’une chambre soit disponible pour nous en 2014. Gaétan et Elizabeth Marcheterre, St. Catharines, Ontario.
Gaétan Marcheterre

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Perfect tranquility

My wife and I spent two fabulous nights at Wedgewood Manor. On arrival, Andre greeted us and allowed us to settle into our room before offering a glass of wine with cheese and crackers and conversation on the veranda--we felt transported to another time. At breakfast the following morning (huevos rancheros, fresh fruit, hot tea) we met the other guests and thoroughly enjoyed the "family" atmosphere that Andre and Nancy fostered. The following morning we feasted on hearty stacks of fresh blueberry pancakes and further conversation. Stress withered away in the peaceful quietude with a background sigh of breeze in the trees, the chatter of birds in the morning. Our room, adjacent to the large and comfortable library on the second floor, was spacious and comfortable, with an en suite bathroom with shower. Daily temperatures that flirted with the upper 90s (Farenheit), cooled delightfully to the low 50s in the evening. The manor house is chock full of art from Andre and Nancy's many years spent overseas with the Canadian foreign service; but the manor itself is the real work of art. Our time at Wedgewood Manor was far too short. We look forward to returning and exploring the area further.
Keith Ewing
St. Cloud, MN

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Majestic Retreat

We returned this June to Wedgwood for the serenity, natural beauty and historic accomodations we value. Nancy and Andre greet, pamper and provide us with delightful rooms and a variety of delectable breakfasts. Our privacy and the stillness of the great gardens and paths are very rejuvenating. Their local knowledge enhances our explorations, and we're always pleased to return "home" to the Inn for a quiet evening.
Helen Perry

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wish we could have stayed longer

Another couple and my husband and I spent a few days in Canada golfing. We only booked one night for staying at the Wedgwood Manor as we were going north to play the next day. I wish we could of spent a few more days in the relaxing atmosphere - perfect weather and wonderful hosts. Thanks so much.
Mary Knudsen
Spokane, WA

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Annual 'Wedgie Girl' weekend!

First annual girlfriend get together to celebrate a 51st birthday! Lovely grounds, cookies on our arrival. Getting used to the gruff charm of the owner. Hiked to the lookout, enjoyed the dog-friendly welcome and company on our walk in the woods behind. Cozy, comfortable, charming Kingfisher Cabin. April has no mosquitos and the hike on Pilot Peninsula was grand indeed, even with the off/on spring weather.
Heather Wattie

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

An experience to repeat.

We spent our late summer holiday in the Kootenay Lake area and stayed in the cozy, well appointed Kingfisher cabin of Wedgewood Manor. Our holiday was relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed the quiet and comfortable cottage. The west facing deck overlooknig the old tennis courts was a great place to enjoy an afternoon cup of tea, savouring views of the carriage house, the beautiful garden with the lake beyond. Mika, the Irish Wolfhound became our tour guide and escorted us all the way up to the falls behind the cottage, stopping for us on the way at a view point to enjoy a view of the Kootney Lake. Nancy and Andre are wonderful hosts with entertaining stories from their diplomatic past. Mornings, Nancy feasted us to delicious breakfasts in the Manor's elegant dining room while Andre pleasantly laboured in the un-becoming role of a server. Both the hosts are wonderful company and great conversationists. They were very gracious to arrange an appointment for my husband with a local doctor when he became somewhat indisposed. The Manor is a beautiful historic residence worth a visit and Nancy and Andre make the visit memorable. We look forward to visiting again.
Rubina Bokhari

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Just passing through

We happened upon this Inn in a real estate listing and thought we would check it out - not really looking to buy but just its history. Disappointed that it has no display of actual Wedgewood items but otherwise quite pleased. Host seems to feel a bit trapped in his lifestyle, wife more neutral. Both very friendly and helpful. Rooms quite different, check them all out and choose your favourite. Fresh air quota in the suite with the double jacuzzi was to die for! With windows on both sides of the room open you have a gale blowing across your nose, while you snuggle beneath the warmth of the down duvet. Nice. Food was good. Surroundings and books made me wish we could stay and read for a week. Would go back for sure.
E Kuhr

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip -
Take a wee hike up to the waterfalls after your meal, weather and boots permitting. We were offered wine and a snack after arriving, you are just a short visit away from dining options, I would take my own bottle of wine, if staying more than a day, to fully enjoy that front porch and the library contents. Have your slipper handy when you arrive as you are asked to remove your shoes at the front door to protect heritage hardwoods. Ferry crossing was free and efficient.
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

One of the Best!

This B&B is great! The location is remote, somewhat secluded, quiet and beautiful. The innkeepers, Andre and Nancy, couldn't have been more hospitable. We enjoyed chatting with them about the history of the inn as well as their own interesting lives. Breakfast was outstanding and the afternoon tea was lovely.
Paul Lugo
Fort Collins, CO

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Fabulous Retreat!

What a special way to celebrate my birthday, second time we have done this, wonderful feeling just being there. The room was so well appointed and spotless! Breakfast was spectacular and we really enjoyed visiting with Andre and Nancy. We really appreciate their hard work. Mike enjoyed the walk to the falls, accompanied by the house dogs who made sure he was well looked after. Hope to do this again next year. Marge & Mike Kennedy, West Creston BC
Marge Kennedy

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wedgwood Manor Country Inn

It is a lovely place, we enjoyed the 'welcome' wine and cheese outdoors and meeting some of the other guests. The breakfast was lovely. Were disappointed when you charged full fee the next day when we decided to return home a day early. Also weren't pleased to remove our shoes at the door, at those rates you could hire a cleaning lady.
Irene/Doug Gateson

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Heavenly ... and gluten free!

First we were greeted by the dogs, then Andre and finally Nancy with wine, cheese and crackers. Nancy knew from our reservation that we are gluten free, so she served rice crackers with this welcome snack! The room was spotless clean. In the morning, Andre served good strong coffee while Nancy put together an amazing gluten-free feast. Everything was memorable, the house was charming, the dogs, cats and hosts all understand hospitality and (like the website says) "Life is good at the Manor!"
Jon & Diane Z
South Surrey, BC

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great Place

My wife and I stayed in the cottages and found them very nicely appointed. We enjoyed each evening on the covered deck, in peace and quiet while admiring the stars... truly awesome! They have great local golfing, attractions and plenty of good places to eat. We traveled by car. The roads and ferry crossing (free) make it easy and comfortable to travel. And if you like motorbikes they have some of the best routes anywhere. I gave the service a 4 because there isn't wifi in the cabins (really this is only worth a half heart, 4.5). However wifi is available while enjoying the Manor or surrounding grounds. One morning while having coffee the proprietor came by with fresh picked berries. Very tasty. We would definitely stay here again. If you're looking for a beautiful and quiet stay, look no further!
Brad Sanderson

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great B&B in the woods

Lovely setting (yes, you must be prepared for local critters), tasty breakfast, interesting hosts and guests. Chatting with hosts and guests after breakfast on the porch provided one highlight of the visit. Hiking to the falls with our "guides" Lucy and Micca provided another. Comfy bed in our room (study). Variety of books and guides. Prices vary by room. Stairs to upper floor. We found Andre and Nancy to be gracious hosts. (They do remind us of our German friends who tell us precisely what they are thinking.) They comprise a major reason we will return as soon as we have the chance. Will definitely recommend to my friends. Very apropos review on Trip Advisor by Herman_and_Lorna (Aug 2011)
Paul Grubbs
Spokane, WA

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - Weather and Seasons
Don't forget to check the weather and dress appropriately for the season. "Bug" repellant is a good idea for these environs. We are also in the habit of carrying bear spray when we venture off-road.
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Romantic recovery

After some long travel, this was the perfect respite for us for two nights. The setting is spectacular, the hosts are welcoming and informative, the art is extensive and excellent, the breakfasts are yummy and the historic nature of the manor adds to the whole experince. What more could you want? Plus- we loved exploring the area- plenty to do if you are so inclined. Carol and David Turner
Carol Turner

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Cabin stay

My husband and I stayed in the cabin, a short distance from the Manor. Together with our little dog, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The cabin is new, and more like a small house than a motel-type cabin. Lovely bedding and decor, everything you would need in a kitchen, comfortable living room area with TV, and a great deck to sit out and watch the birds while supper is cooking on the BBQ. We walked up the trail to see the falls, and enjoyed the artisan shops in town. Thanks, Nancy and Andre, for your hospitality!
Marilee Sharpe
Calgary, AB

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Romatic Birthday

Fabulous stay as always. The rooms and breakfasts are among the best we've had. The grounds have well maintained hiking trails and four legged friends to enjoy them with. Nancy and Andre are a wealth of information regarding the area. Some lovely restaurants and artisan shops are within a short drive. We could easily stay long term on this lovely property
Vera-Lynn Gartside

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wedgewood Manor is wonderful!

Just spent two nights in the Study room at the Wedgewood Manor. Had a wonderful time. Comfortable, clean, great breakfasts, welcoming beverages and snacks. Nancy and Andre are terrific hosts, really nice, helpful and so friendly. We brought our small dog along and they were wonderful to him also. Definitely will stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Great location, just beautiful home and setting.
Joan DeBella

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - Bring slippers
Bring some slippers since there is the canadian "take your shoes off" policy.
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

stunning property..stunning hosts

Our favorite ah haah , snuggley , retreat to disappear into in the whole northwest and Canada! Nancy and Andre have been all around the world and they made us feel like family when we walked in. Nancy will even read you a story in their cozy library upstairs. great food, great company, fragrant blooms and petable pets.
mary warner
pipe creek, TX

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Annual Honeymoon Haven

Nancy and Andre are international travel adventurer's who have fantastic stories to accompany the eclectic art work that adds to the turn of the century charm of the Manor. They are gracious hosts who put on an outstanding breakfast. the gardens and views are breathtaking.
Kirkland Shave

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Avoid at all costs

The inn keepers were ornery and down right rude! We felt very unwelcome and uncomfortable the entire stay because of the inn keepers lack of manners.
david hosemen

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (4 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Pete & Pam weekend trek

We drove up from Southern Alberta on a whim for something a little out of the way. The picture is still etched in my mind as we drove up in awe ! Well all I can say is " what a wonderful experience" The amazing heritage home fully decorated with just the most grand yard. Reminded me of old English style just amazing. Most peaceful and calm, serene atmosphere one could ask for. Hosts were just awesome and breakfasts were grand. There was so much to see and do in the area that every day was too short. Yes one day we will return...it is a memory you will never ever forget. You must go and stay. My daughter was very young when we stayed and she has never forgotten how beautiful the stay was..she still tells me about the yard.
Pete H

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Picturesque

Picturesque, I don't know if that's how you say it, but it's the most beautiful setting you'll find. Looking out the windows at the snow capped Kokanee Glazier, with Deer eating out on the lawn. A beautiful Heritage Home, with so much History, and what a stay! Hospitality at its best. If you want the best stay ever, you'll want to stay here. For a romantic get away, or just a quite retreat, it a must stay! Will be staying here, every year now that we found this place. I've heard about this place for years, well born and raised in the Creston Valley, but never stayed here before. This is the place to be. Thanks again for all the Delicious meals. Not Just your ordinary B/B You can have all your meals right here. Your well taken care of. Very Very satisfied.
Royce Eisler
Creston, BC

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (2 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Lovely Stay

Some friends and I stayed there a couple years in a row now. Andre was waiting at the door with a bottle of wine; (wonderful wine & cheese snacks!). Great variety of food prepared like the best chef. I have food allergies but no problem; Nancy was very caring and looked after me with such lovely fare! Charming Victorian rooms with a very well stocked library for a meeting place, a special place before the fireplace to sip your wine, coffee or tea and read or visit. Each time we stay we love it more. Very good service and charming hosts. We will be there again next year!
Sharon Summers

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Enchantingly Romantic Get-Away!

Year after year the magic of the Wedgwood Manor Country Inn bring us back. The minute we turn into the lane that leads us up to the Manor time shifts into slow gear. The gorgeous grounds and gardens are a refreshing welcome. The beautiful Inn is full of enchanting spaces that fans the romantic heart. Nancy and Andre are superlative hosts who have traveled the globe and know how to make a Bed and Breakfast not just special but exceptional. There is so much to do; Hot Springs, World class golf, artisan shops, gourmet restaurants - or not to do; curl up in the Wedgwood library with the acres of books waiting for you, set up on the covered porch and watch the sun set over the Kokanee Glacier while nibbling on some delectable goody that Nancy had brings with tea or wine or coffee, or hide-away in your cozy room full of historic charm and tasteful decor. Not to mention waking up every morning to a gourmet breakfast. It's almost too good to be true. But it is true and that is why we come back every year.
Monica Hiatt

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Life At The Manor

Time spent at Wedgewood Mamor is always a magical experience. The beauty and tranquility of the manor provides a perfect respite from the day to day demands. I have visited the manor many times in the past and have never been disappointed. My visit this Easter weekend was no exception. Andre and Nancy are wonderful hosts, providing a warm elegant environment where relaxation is easily attained. What a treasure!
mary Grant

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

I would never stay here again!

The host and hostess of this inn were horribly rude, grumpy and unfriendly. Their rudeness ruined our vacation! After staying at this place I found out from reading other reviews on other web sites that many people have had similar experiences at this place. Boy I wish I had read those reviews before I made my booking.
Dan Baird

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

As elegant as ever...

We returned for our annual spring weekend at the Manor and were treated wonderfully by Nancy and Andre as always... the Ambrosia room is so comfortable and quiet, breakfast time truly a treat, refreshments and snacks in the evening by the fire...
Rick Baker
Calgary, AB

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

An exceptional rest experience

We stayed for one night after we rode 1,500 miles in our motorcycles. First class service and First class hostesses.
Sergio MAsdeu
12/13/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

The Best!

I spent 4 nights at Wedgwood Manor. My room was facing the garden with the trinkling sound of a small water fall, creek and pond. It is a warm, friendly atmosphere. Very professional. Scrumptious breakfasts made with a loving touch. Wine with cheese, crackers and fruit were served late afternoon on the balcony. There is a historic walk with little sign posts. The beach is close by. This place is a MUST if you are looking for a place to stay in the area. I give the Wedgwood Manor the highest recommendation. D.
Diane Bonneau
8/8/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Romantic Get-Away

A perfect romantic get-away! We live in Kimberley only 2 hours away.... but this seems worlds away when we are at Wedgewood Manor. The rooms are perfect, breakfasts superb, and the grounds enticing. You must stay more than one night to properly feel "Kootenay Time". This was our second visit (for an anniversary celebration), and we'll be back!
Anne J.
Kimberley, BC
6/28/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful Wekend

My husband & I had the most relaxing and delightful weekend at the inn. A great big thank you to Nancy and Andre for their hospitality and their attention to details which made us feel truly pampered.
Mike & Val F.
4/26/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Elegance in the forest

We visit the manor annually. The hosts have always been gracious and friendly, the breakfast has always been superb and served with style. A very relaxing, comfortable stay every time.
Rick Baker
Calgary, AB
4/18/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

rude welcome

Ok this house is beautiful but all of its lovelyness could never make up for the lack of hospitality you will find here. The former new yorkers that own and run this bed and breakfast are horribly rude and extremely unfriendly. I have never experienced such crabby, bitter, cranky, owners in all of my many stays at bed and breakfasts. From the moment we walked in the door the owner snarled at us because we arived slightly earlier than she had expected. However she nearly bit our heads off when we had to ask how to work the antique faucet in our room. she yelled " don't ever touch the middle faucet. This is an antique faucet! , never touch the middle handle!". There were no directions listed anywhere for the odd 3 faucet sink which is why we had to ask. In the morning they served a rubarb crumble that i didn't eat every bite of. As we left the dinning room she yelled to her husband "boy we sure wasted the rubarb on them" and to make sure we heard she yelled it a second time..." Boy we sure wasted the rubarb on them ! " when we had first opened the door to our room we found an enormous bumblebee waiting for us. They had not suppled a fly swatter in the room so I asked the owner if she could come and take care of it for us and she snapped...." thats what husbands are for" she spent about 1 minute looking for it and said "well it must be gone" so she left. well, In the middle of the night my husband and I were awakened by a B 52 bomber flying above our heads so my husband grabbed a book and.....well lets just say we left her a nice gift. If you want an enjoyable, relaxing stay....go someplace else.
jenny valdomire
1/16/2009

Management Response
Life is good at the Manor! Dear Jenny; We offer our most sincere apologies for your unpleasant stay at our B&B. This is, however, the only complaint we've received this year. We have had numerous warm compliments on both our facilities and service, which bring guests back year after year. I hope you'll give us a second chance. Please contact us, identifying yourself as the complainant and we will give you a free night. Let me address your concerns one by one. Your early arrival: In our confirmation email, and in a sign at the entrance, we ask all guests to check in no earlier than 3pm, as that gives us time to clean up after breakfast, remake the rooms, do laundry, have lunch and - if we're lucky - have a rest. We value this time. That still doesn't make it okay for me to remonstrate with anyone, and I do apologize. The explanation of the strange faucet: because it is a strange antique (100 years old!), we explain it to every guest in that room. If the center tap is turned, it turns off all the water to the sink. I don't understand why you took my explanation amiss. The rhubarb crumble - I realize that not every guest enjoys or finishes every breakfast item; that is why we ask every guest to fill out a breakfast preference form, so we can tailor meals to their needs and tastes. Bee in the room - Because of the history and age of the manor, we have not been able to fit screens to the windows. And, because of our rural location, we do get bugs wandering through. My response ("That's what husbands are for") was my attempt at humour. With warmest regards, Andre & Nancy, Innkeepers
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

We Felt Spoiled

We really appreciate the way you spoil and pamper us. Wish we could just move in.
Anonymous
10/21/2008

My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

46 Review(s)
89% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Publicity and Press Reviews

Sunset Magazine, BC Auto Association, Calgary Herald, Vancouver Sun, Audi owner's magazine, BC Magazine.


Discussion