Home > Pennsylvania B&Bs > Holicong Bed and Breakfast Inns > The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

5281 York Rd, Holicong, PA 18928, USA    
  • Free Night Participating Inn
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Mona

Description

Circa 1740. Surrounded by 100 acres of pasture and woodland views in the Bucks County countryside this exclusive destination estate spa boasts luxury accommodations in the historic 1740 Manor House, the Stone Ban...

Get a Free Night at this inn

The dates this property will honor the certificate are Monday-Thursday, no holidays..

- One Night Free: This property is featured as participating in the iLoveinns.com Buy-One-Night-Get-One-Night-Free program.


Write a review

Wonderful Romantic Getaway!

My husband surprised me with a stay at Barley Sheaf. We have young daughter and he knew I would not want to venture too far from home. Even though we live close when I pulled into the drive I felt as if we were far away! It is a beautiful, peaceful tree lined drive. The property is amazing and the staff could not have been more hospitable and helpful. The dinner and brunch is out of this world! Our Suite, Stage Door, was absolutely perfect in every way! I highly recommend this Inn to everyone!
Kathy Deibert

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (7 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Don't get married here!

My Fiance' and I were looking for the perfect location for a romantic wedding & we thought we found it when we visited the Barley Sheaf . At first glance the country setting seemed like the perfect location for an outdoor reception. We stopped by in March & spoke to the inn keeper & picked up some information. The gentleman who briefly showed us a couple of rooms explained that there was a $10,000 site free (which you get nothing except the use of the property. Not even the tent) & we had to rent out ALL 17 rooms for the entire weekend. I later spoke to Lola, the owner of the Barley Sheaf, on the phone 2x's & scheduled an appointment on 4/26 at noon to discuss the details. I explained to Lola that my fiance' travels extensively for work & I go to school on weekends so our time was valuable and we were serious about moving forward. Well, when we drove an hour out there on a Sunday, and Lola never showed up for the appt. The women at the desk said Lola left the packet (which she knew I already had) & that "the price is the price and there was nothing further to discuss." I'm very shocked by the arrogance of this place especially when someone is getting ready to plan the most important day of their life. I'm still shocked at how rude Lola was not to even show up for the appt. If you're looking for a place to book your special event, pass the Barley Sheaf by and find a place that's going to work with you to make it special.
Jeanine Jewell
Lower Gwynedd, PA
4/27/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Not worth the money

Snobbish reception and sub par for the money...go for the real thing instead if you are going to spend that much.
Sarah Nichols
Trenton, NJ
1/10/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Gone Downhill...

After spending a fabulous honeymoon at the Barley Sheaf my husband and I decided to return for our first anniversary. Unfortunately the establishment seems to be declining with the economy. We were appalled and shocked to find plastic (yes, plastic) bags of muffins and banana bread on the counter as breakfast. There were NO staff onsite except for a rather sullen housekeeper who informed us we could make our own breakfast. Upon complaining that we did not receive the usual fabulous breakfast we were told that we could be refunded only $12.50. We of course had to telephone our complaint as NO ONE was working. We were not given notice that we were buying the bed without the breakfast. After this we will never trust what seemed to be such a good thing. Our trips to Barley Sheaf will not be annual, in fact we will never visit again.
Christine Neijstrom
Falls Church, VA
1/2/2009

Management Response
This guest was a repeat customer who was here for an extended stay of three days. The first two mornings, they had a full gourmet breakfast and complimented on how wonderful it was. The third morning was New Years Day. Our entire staff was given off , and our guests were aware of this. However, we left a Continental Breakfast for them to enjoy. None of our other guests complained, but since this guest did, we reimbursed them $25.00. Unfortunately it was not a gourmet breakfast, but it included fresh baked goods( wrapped in plastic for freshness), fruit, juices, coffee, and tea. We are open 365 days a year (1 day without service).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (4 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

4 Review(s)
25% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Publicity and Press Reviews

Country Living, Romantic Inns of America, Philadelphia Magazine, Philadelphia Enquirer, CNC Business Channel.


Discussion