Home > Texas B&Bs > New Braunfels Bed and Breakfast Inns > Prince Solms Inn Bed & Breakfast

295 East San Antonio St., New Braunfels, TX 78130-4535, USA    
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Micheal Buttross

Description

Circa 1898. Continuously operating since built by German craftsmen in 1898, this hotel sits in downtown's historic district. It was made with beige-colored brick exterior and tall ceilings of cypress milled from ...


Write a review

Wonderful Time for Wedding

We had a wonderful time at the Prince Solms for Sarah and Brian's wedding. Please tell all of the staff thank you!
Gam and Carol Buceli
San Antonio, TX

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful Stay in New Braunfels

You were so kind to open the Prince Solms to us this past Thursday, though we arrived late and had to drag you out of bed to come check us in! We were blown away by your generosity, and hope to one day repay your kindness. One thing for sure, we've been talking up the Prince Solms since we left! Thank you so much for our wonderful stay in New Braunfels!
Susan and Robert Ridel
Canton, MO

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Memorable and Enjoyable Weekend

Thank you for making this a memorable and enjoyable weekend!
Israel and Stephanie Grant
Houston ,

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful Establishment!

We enjoyed our stay at the Prince Solms so much. Our room, the breakfast, and the service were excellent, not to mention the charm that exuded the whole time we were there. You have a wonderful establishment, and we wish you the best of success with it. We particularly appreciated the opportunity to visit with you. Thank you for the gift certificate and for being so accomodating. We look forward to the next visit.
Kathy and Leonard Fischer
Fort Worth, TX

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Thank You!

Just Wanted to thank you for a great night at the Prince Solms Inn last Friday. Marcy, Evonne, and I had a wonderful visit, and we are so looking forward to coming back to see you. Thanks again.
Geoff Dawson
Harris, TX

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Dirty Dusty and Dingy

Our trip was to be the last for a while, intended to be a romantic getaway for a few days to relax and enjoy each other. What we found prevented that from coming to fruition. The inn keeper (Al) is a very nice and charming man. He was polite and hospitable, even offering to buy us a bottle of wine (we donít drink at the moment) and instead bought us lunch. We thought that this was a very nice gesture. Thatís about where the good part ends. We found the rooms VERY DUSTY and dingy. Bugs in the corners, water stains on the walls from the air conditioner, stained carpets, a strange smell in the air (I'm guessing from the mold that was growing due to the air conditioner leaking). We couldn't use the ceiling fans because they were so caked in dust. If we had turned them on we would have been dealing with a dust storm. Even the beds were dusty. We shook out the covers before we got into the bed, we could see the dust in the air. We gave it a go on the first night, trying to be good sports about it. We got through the night, not sleeping much because of the PIANO BAR directly underneath our room. They quit about midnight. Oh, and a train comes through town on the hour every hour throughout the night, blowing its horn the whole way through. We went out and had our day. We got done with our activities and realized we had to go back at some point. We didn't want to. We knew it was gross. We even had our room changed, it didnít help. We were just that uncomfortable. Now I'm pretty reasonable. I know that the hotel doesnít own the train, they canít do much. I know they donít have much say on the piano bar. Our move upstairs the second night solved that problem. What baffles me is the complete lack of pride in the ownership of the business. I would say that if I was the innkeeper, I would have it immaculate all the time, as if the Queen herself was coming to stay that night. At least I might have the decency to clean the room that was reserved for that evening to make sure we were ready to go. The innkeeper said to us in an email that we had unrealistic expectations for staying at a historic inn. I contradict. I expect it to be clean. I would imagine most of us might agree. The second night I picked up a dead cockroach in the room we had. I didn't tell my wife about the cockroach. I would have been driving home that evening and I wasnít up for it. We checked out 2 nights early. We just couldnít take it anymore. Initially the owner kept $100 of our money for the 2 unused nights ($50 per night). After writing a few emails back and forth he refunded another $50.00. We asked for all of our money back based on our experience. We didnít receive it. I am absolutely not impressed with this establishment and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I thought the staff was friendly and courteous, but based on the condition of the building I donít think this was a good experience for us.
Jeff Turverey

Management Response
This review is part of a vicious smear campaign, encompassing all the major Bed and Breakfast and travel sites, by a disgruntled guest who didn't get a complete refund that he demanded but, according to our clearly-stated cancellation policy, wasn't entitled to(he was, nonetheless, refunded most of his money as a gesture of good-faith on our part). It has no other purpose than to extract revenge on this establishment by harming its reputation. We operate one of the most historic inns in Texas, and the State's oldest continuously operating inn, having first opened its doors in 1898. In spite of this, we maintain very high standards of cleanliness and repair, as less biased and more reasonable reviews -- both on this site and others -- make evident. However, a unique and historic property such as the Prince Solms cannot be made to look, feel, and smell as "sterile" as a big chain hotel, like the Hilton, and it would lose most of its character -- and us most of our business -- if it did. That said, people who require a completely sterile environment probably should not stay in historic bed and breakfasts and inns. Thanks and regards, Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

FAMILIES BEWARE

As a registered nurse I hadn't had a weekend off in 7months, perhaps my expectations were a little too high due to this. I planned a weekend getaway for myself and my two girls (ages 7 and 9) and decided to splurge a little on this bed and breakfast. $180 for one night stay. The Inn did not allow young children, but did offer subsequent rooms joining the inn. The problem was that the room entrance is located in the courtyard and across from the piano bar (approx. 10 feet). The side of the room is next to the main street, so you can hear street traffic very clearly, and the back of the room faces the parking lot. Unfortunately, we booked this room for a Friday night, not aware of any of the aforementioned above. I "ll take you thru our experience. The night before, I went on-line and booked the room, attempting to call as well, to confirm everything, since it was the night before. I called at approx. 7:30pm and never received a return phone call, until the next morning (the Inn advertised that it closed at 8pm). The next morning when we arrived, we entered into the Inn and found a young man sitting at a desk behind a lap top computer and after a few moments, he asked if we were checking in. He never even introduced himself or welcomed us to the Inn. There was also a lady working at a desk, as I went to the office part and she never acknowledge, greeted or welcomed us to the Inn as well. (So much for feeling friendly, and putting a damper on my excitement). After paying for the room, matter of factly and without conversation or courteous, and on the way to our selected room, the young man stated the information about breakfast monotoned and pointed that the dining room was down the hall. I did see the hall of course, but also noticed that there was several doorways off that hall. But was unable to ask further questions, because he was already walking out the front door. The basket of "goodies" should of been a clue, which contained earplugs. Tell me why I want to spend $180 on a room and sleep in earplugs? The basket of "goodies" also contained our chocolate chip cookies, pretzels and bottled water, as mentioned. There were 3 guest and one bag of each with only 2 bottle waters. (Makes it a little difficult telling your children to share the only bag of chocolate chip cookies and oh, yea...I guess that means I don't get any). The basket itself that contained the "goodies" also contained old crumbs from several previous bags of something. There was also a coffee spill on the floor (next to the bed). The night table contained magazines from 1-2 years ago and an old cookie wrapper, which I hope was not from the same time frame. The queen bed had plain white sheets probably 200ct or less with the most uncomfortably pillows of fiber fill. You would think/expect going to an old Inn that there would be nice feather pillows and beautiful bedding. (the comforter and pillow shams were pretty). My girls did enjoy the loft. I once again was surprised to find plain plywood flooring with screws actually sticking up in several places. There was plenty of lighting but none that provided dim lighting for night. (I was so afraid my girls would wake up and fall down the loft stairs that I had to keep a bright lamp on all night. Turned out to not be a problem because I wasn't able to sleep. around 10pm it sounded like there was a party directly outside our door. There was a number provided on the door to call if the noise was too loud (obviously, a frequent problem) the piano bar guy that answered the phone was very nice and said that he would take care of the problem in 10minutes. A nice thought I guess, but didn't happen. Although, the cussing seem to stop. 17minutes later I called the alternative number provided and received someone stating "this is Al", I didn't know if I had the wrong number or not? I explained the situation and he said he could be there in a few minutes, he was only a few minutes away. ( he did offer to move us to another room but unfortunately, my girls were already asleep) So, there actually was no one at the Inn? Which also brings me to the security issues. Totally, unsafe!!! At approx. 10:30pm, my door handle was grabbed several times. There was no peep hole in the door, and the windows had outside closed shutters on them making it impossible to see who was there. There also was no phone in the room making for a dangerous situation if I didn't have my cell phone. I might add this might be a fire safety hazard as well (not a professional on that subject, just my thought). The party outside lasted until about 1AM, oh and I forgot to mention the outside traffic ....on Friday night, I'm sure you can imagine. There is also a train that runs every several hours that is very loud. So, thinking now that the party is over.....oops, didn't think about clean up time. Yes, about 2AM, the back parking lot was being cleaned of clanking bottles then it was time for the piano bar to clean up their clanking bottles. I was finally able to go to sleep around 5:30AM only to wake at 8:00 to prepare for breakfast. It was at this time that I met "Al", of course, not formally....no handshake or anything. He did apologize for "last night" and showed us to the dining room. The breakfast was by far the best part and something that even my picky 9year ate, thanks to Al's accommodations. Overall, I read multiple reviews prior to picking this Inn and after my experience, I can't help but wonder where did they stay.
LISA AGIN
4/26/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (3 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

7 Review(s)
71% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Publicity and Press Reviews

The Outlook Magazine, National Geographic Travel Magazine, New Braunfels Herald Zeitung News, Houston Chronicle, Texas Magazine, San Antonio Express News, Texas Highways Magazine, Southern Living Magazine, Dallas Morning News.


Discussion

Nearby Inns

Lamb's Rest Inn
1385 Edwards Blvd, New Braunfels, TX (7.1 miles)
Historic Kuebler Waldrip Haus Bed and Breakfast
1620 Hueco Springs Loop Rd., New Braunfels, TX (7.1 miles)