House of Two Urns      
1239 N Greenview Ave, Chicago, IL 60642-3318, USA    
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Kapra Fleming and Miguel Lopez Lemus

Description

Circa 1912. This historic townhouse offers guests a unique experience in the Windy City. The house is built in late Victorian style, and innkeeper Kapra Fleming has decorated the B&B in an eclectic style with...


Write a review

Fantastic Location

Thoroughly recommended. The location is perfect for both the city and exploring Wicker Park, the fantastic, laid back suburb in which Two Urns is located. It has a wide selection of good restaurants, bars and interesting independent shops within a short walk. Two Urns itself is very comfortable. It is clean, has a wonderful sun deck to the rear and Kapra is a great host. I was made to feel very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The breakfasts really set you up for the day too!
Jenifer L
1/1/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Thanksgiving stay proves delightful

What a great location – close to the subway, near to unique stores, cafes, and restaurants. The elegant dining room and unrushed pace of the service make for a delightful start to the day. We also enjoyed the company of other guests at the tasty breakfasts. The room was perfect. A comfy bed, well equipped bathroom, and access to a small kitchen allowed a home like experience to our vacation in Chicago.
Tanya P
11/1/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

The most amazing place to stay in Chicago!

I have stayed at the House of Two Urns several times. Every time I do, I find the place immaculately clean, the artwork interesting and fun, the food amazing, and of course the hosts are welcoming, hospitable, and fill the place with warmth and care.
Jerry P
12/1/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

HOME AWAY FROM HOME!

I recently stayed at the House of Two Urns while attending a 1-day seminar in Chicago. It was centrally located between downtown and the suburbs, and there were food and entertainment places within walking distance. My room was spacious, clean, and felt more like visiting a family member than being in a strange room. I had the large room on the top floor which included my own private bath. The owner was readily available for questions and made terrific suggestions on transportation and local info. Plus, the complimentary breakfast was yummy! I would highly recommend the House of Two Urns for anyone traveling to Chicago. My husband and I will definitely stay there the next time we visit the city!
Brenda L
1/6/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Surprised

As the new season approaches, we wanted to alert any fellow B&B lovers, tourists, and business professionals about House of Two Urns’ unethical practices, making light of guest preferences and their interest in money over repeat guests. I suspect after the incident with us in 2010, House of Two Urns has tried desperately to demonstrate good client relations. Nevertheless, if a B&B owner treats even one of their guests or potential guests poorly, and dismisses the guests concerns repeatedly and publicly, in addition to making fun of the guests, this behavior demonstrates unethical business practices. We booked through Priceline and despite 3 days of emails and phone calls, Kapra only answered the phone after the cancellation grace period ended; so we were not able verify the conditions of the room and B&B based on the misrepresentations from their website. Kapra refused to return our money until our credit card company intervened, and in the end, she still kept half the room charges. We scrambled and booked at a great Chicago establishment and even extended our stay several more nights. We warn all our B&B loving friends about this shocking experience. It is important that anyone even considering a stay with this B&B, regardless of any positive reviews they read, should Buyer Beware and know the truth about what they are capable of within their business practices. Very simply, a sincere apology and a full refund from Kapra for not answering her phone in time for us to cancel within the grace period, if they could not accommodate us, would have created lifetime customer evangelists with our broad word-of-mouth scope. Constructive Criticism/Suggestion: Put guests first. Do whatever it takes to satisfy the guest, especially new and potential guests. Never speak ill of a guest. Answer business phones—no excuses—and/or return emails and voicemails. And never, ever, let money come between the best customer experience possible.
V B

Management Response
I am sorry that I did not get to speak with you directly before you booked the room. As an innkeeper, who wears many hats, I am not always available to return calls immediately. When I received the booking through Priceline, I assumed you had found answers to all your questions on our website. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated as 7 days prior to arrival for a full refund. This is on Priceline and our twourns.com website. Your booking was made less than 7 days prior to arrival and so was non-refundable at the time you booked. After the 7 day grace period ends, one night is never refunded as a late penalty cancellation and subsequent nights are refunded only if re-booked. In addition, when booking with Priceline, you electronically signed an agreement understanding that one night was a non-refundable deposit towards this two night booking. After you booked, your boyfriend called and explained your art phobia and I agreed to his request to cover (not remove) all art work in your guestroom and bathroom during your stay. I did clearly state to him, however, that I would not cover art work in any of our common guest areas (dining, living or breakfast rooms). As an artist-run Bed and Breakfast, we have a diverse and interesting collection of original art that is part of who we are. After I spoke with him you subsequently cancelled your reservation. I was willing to accommodate the requests made of me in your private guestroom areas and I refunded one night of your two night stay as a courtesy, before knowing if it would be re-booked or not. I never forced you into booking the room with us. You chose to do so without speaking to us. You also booked on-line initialing and agreeing to a non-refundable deposit of one night through Priceline. It was also your choice to cancel. I did not dismiss your concerns and did not make fun of you publicly, I tried to accommodate you. All B&Bs have written cancellation policies, penalties and bending these in favor of the guest is not proof of unethical business practices.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

All Things Considered!!

wonderful B&B! We were looking for the B&B with the best breakfast and we found it at Two Urns. Also, they thought of every amenity possible including a pillow menu, an alarm clock menu, and even nice background jazz music during breakfast. Very beautiful and tasteful B&B with very considerate service. Great location to boot. Highly recommended.
Kenneth Allivato
8/12/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful Place!

This B&B is very charming! It's only about two blocks away from the subway. The breakfast every morning was delightful. I would surely come back and recommend it highly!
Cristina Teran
8/8/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

7 Review(s)
86% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible


Discussion