Home > New York B&Bs > Greenport Bed and Breakfast Inns > Harbor Knoll Bed & Breakfast

424 Fourth Street, Greenport, NY 11944, USA    
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Leueen Miller

Description

Circa 1870. Open year-round, this historic waterfront bed and breakfast is on the shore of Peconic Bay on Long Islandís North Fork. Blending Victorian and Dutch Colonial architecture, a relaxed sophistication and...


Write a review

Worst stay at a B&B

Save your money. For over $300 a night, it is appalling. The room (Harbor) was dirty and the sheets were musty and stained. Bathroom had poor water pressure and was dated. Luleen Miller was cold and unattentive. Ants crawling over the breakfast...just stay away from this place.
aran F

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Substandard B&B + no hospitality!

This might "appear" to be a quaint B&B cottage, but reader(s) BEWARE! Looks are deceiving. True it has a great harbor view and it is picturesque (on the outside) with its white siding and black shutters. However, once you enter through the front door, all excitement and anticipation subsides as you're hit with reality. No warmth or hospitality! Laureen (sp?) is cold and somewhat socially inept. What you will get is a key to a (Harbor) room that doesnít work, so youíll be advised to leave the room unlocked. Then youíll be shown the (2nd FL) hall bathroom that is outdated (circa 1980s). Itís super tiny w/blue toilet + tub with gold trimmed shower doors (ugh!). Clearly they missed the memo on the modern bath and could care less about the mildewed showerhead and dust-filled vent. I used the shower for a few days and the water pressure was inadequate each time (drip, drip). Oh and fyi, the towels may or may not be yours in the bathroom. They donít offer them in your room and arenít around to answer questions. After your shower, you had better not expect a good nightís rest. ďL-o-w-e-r-e-d e-x-p-e-c-t-a-t-i-o-n-sÖĒ The bed is cheap wood; the mattress is hard and unpadded plus linens are polyester. No frette linens or perfectly plump pillows that is typically standard at other B&Bs charging comparable rates ($300/night + tax). At Harbor Knoll, that is too much to expect. And what about breakfast, surely you donít expect that too? Oh au contraire, you do get breakfast (fruit, croissant and maybe eggs), but donít forget ants are your friends! They were crawling around on the table and trays. I doubt that was the 1st occurrence, and theyíll surely act surprised if you bring it to their attention. Just know that we did. Lastly, should you ask about restaurant recommendations, donít get your expectations up, remember hospitality does not come with your package. Instead, theyíll direct you to a notebook. Youíre self-sufficient, act like it! B&Bers, youíve been forewarned.
R R

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Lovely spot; idyllic weekend

My husband and I stayed out at Harbor Knoll for a weekend while attending a wedding in the area. Our bedroom had four windows looking out on the bay. It was pretty glorious. Wine and cheese was served every night on the porch. There are two porches: an enclosed porch and a screened porch, plus adirondack chairs out on the lawn overlooking the water. It was just a beautiful spot and a great weekend.
Heather Dem

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Terrible B&B

My husband and I traveled from NYC to Knoll Harbor (a 3 hour drive) after the owner, Leueen Miller promised us (in writing), one overnight stay. When we got there, she was extremely cold from the minute she opened the door, then told us that she had given our room to another couple because she "forgot" we were coming. First red flag. Then she said she would be charging us $500 for a two night stay. My husband showed her the email in which she had told us we could spend one night (only one night) in the B&B for $225. She responded by saying she was confused and "didn't mean to write that." She then kicked us out of the B&B, saying she couldn't accommodate us for the night she had promised. This woman is not only extremely rude and unprofessional but it's very clear she is running a scam. We wandered out on the street, knocking on B&B doors until a nice man said he had a room for us. Not to mention, we walked in the Harbor Knoll foyer and it was filthy. It was clear she hadn't dusted in years. This woman is totally insane. Please dont waste your time or money staying here.
Cara Nussbaum

Management Response
"The enquiry was for for one night, the agreement was for two nights in line with my B&B policy as reflected on my website and based on two telephone discussions with Mr. Sole. I had no contact with his significant other who wrote the complaint. I even called him the night before their reservation date to confirm arrangements. I am so terribly sorry that they misunderstood our policy and our agreement for a two night stay. Their inconvenience was minimal, I arranged immediately a one night stay for them at a nearby B&B within their price range and had them driven there. They were fully refunded for the rooms and as a courtesy I refunded them $40 for the bus ride. At all times they were treated with full understanding and given every courtesy which unfortunately was not reciprocated."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (3 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Not worth the $$$$

We recently stayed at Harbor Knoll B&B. Our bed was a hard small full size bed for two adults in a tiny room. Our bathroom had a shower that was less than 3' by 3' and the toilet was in a cubby hole. It was unseasonably warm when we stayed and the old AC window unit in our room was very loud at night and kept us up. The rest of house did not have AC and it was very warm and uncomfortalbe. Breakfast was on the cheap side: scrambled eggs, one slice of toast and once slice of tomato. A cake was put out that gradually grew green fuzzy mold on it everyday. Coffee and tea were from a Keurig machine and not good. No afternoon tea was served. Afternoon wine and cheese was served once during our 4 day stay. I needed a vacation from this vacation bc I got no sleep on the uncomfortable bed that messed up my back for a few days. Room was $$$$ and not worth it.
Susanne S
10/13/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (3 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

5 Review(s)
20% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Publicity and Press Reviews

New York Times.


Discussion

Nearby Inns

Wells House
Right on Main St -National Historic Register District, Greenport, NY (0.5 miles)
Stirling House Bed & Breakfast
104 Bay Avenue, Greenport, NY (0.6 miles)