21 Aviles St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-4441, USA    
 
 
Innkeeper/s:

Jeff and Hilde

Description

Circa 1763. Poised inside a private walled courtyard surrounded by tropical gardens in the historic district of St. Augustine Antigua, Florida, this bed and breakfast inn is an easy walk along brick-paved streets...


Write a review

First Visit

Our first visit to St Augustine and Casa de Solana and we loved it. Our room is fabulous and hospitality perfect. Breakfasts so yummy! Thank you we'll be back!
Judy and Pete s
12/15/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Delighted and Lovely Stay

We live in Jupiter Florida and always wanted to see the Christmas Lights of St Augustine. Delighted to have had the opportunity to stay at Casa de Solana - Kirby Smith room, lovely. Our kitty "Pete" first visit at a B & B and the innkeeper Jeff was a cat person. Lovely place and very delicious breakfast, Merry Christmas and thank you. The Nicholson's and Pete
James Nicholson
Jupiter, FL

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Everything is Wonderful

Everything is wonderful from the beginning of our stay to the end. Spent 3 nights and we will be back! A wonderful way to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary!
Bill & Karen V
12/11/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Best of the best!

This is with out a doubt the best bed & breakfast I have ever been to! On this trip I twisted my ankle on a cobble stone. My fiance went to get me a cookie to make me feel better, when Amelia (the wonderful chef) asked why I did not come down for the Wine and cheese social (fantastic!) my fiance returned with a tray of cookies and a bag of epson salts for my leg! This is a wonderful place! Beautiful rooms, amazing breakfast, outstanding service, this B&B isn't lacking for a thing!
Pat Van

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Incredible Stay

This was our first stay here and I have to say it was incredible. All the staff is so kind, courteous and the room stunning. The location in heart of Historic Downtown St Augustine. Thank you so much for you hospitality.
John & Debi H
7/31/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

LOVED

LOVED our stay here! Beautiful home! Great Staff that make you feel welcomed and take care of all your needs. Everything was clean and well maintained. Hope to come back again.
Mike and Melissa B
6/6/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

In Awe

This is only our first day at Casa de Solana and I am in complete awe. This place is absolutely breathtaking and the environment is unbelievably wonderful. We will be back and will recommend this place to anyone who will listen.
Mr and Mrs Garcia G
5/26/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Our First

This is our first of many visits in the coming years. We are celebrating 20 years together and vacation from taking care of our mother. Everything is so awesome! We love Amelia and her stories of this town. Everyone very friendly.
Jeff and Shiela S
5/14/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great Place

Wonderful place! Loved our room the Montejurra so big and great bed! Thank you.
Mark and Luanne S
5/5/2013

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Perfect

The Kirby Smith room was perfect for us! Our courtyard wedding was perfect for us! Thank you for giving us a wedding day we will never forget!
Danny and Emily M
7/3/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Sun

We checked in to a rainstorm. When we entered our room the "Sun" came out!!! Still pouring outside never knew it inside. The Staff, the breakfast, the room everyting was top knotch. We will return for sure. Thanks to ALL!!
Joseph V
6/27/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Superb Time

We would like to sincerely express our Thanks. We had a superb time. We fell in love with this house. All the staff was wonderful, great experience our last night in our room (ghost). Well, it was definitely something and we are glad we experienced it. Great city, breakfast was just Wonderful!! Definitely will come back!! Thank you!!
Helena and Mike R
5/27/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Memorable

We so enjoyed the getaway weekend at Casa de Solana. The ambiance was lovely. Mike and Valerie did all the little things that make a place memorable. The service, food and hospitality were great. The jasmine and weddings here were beautiful and were fun to see. Vero Beach, Florida
Walter and Lalita J
4/28/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Our Second Stay

Our second stay at this beautiful andpeaceful bed and breakfast. The all pervading smell of jasmine will haunt us in our dreams. Wonderful! Toronto, Canada
Mary & Bill T
4/27/2012

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Gracious

A first B and B experience, was aswesome - ya'll set a high par around here. We so appreciate your kind and gracious service.
Lorna L
9/1/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great B/B

Everthing was very pleasant and the food was delish! The innkeepers and guest were very nice to talk too.
Macey and Romulus M
8/11/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Excellent Service

Thanks so much for making our 1st time in St Augustine so wonderful. Also, the service we received was excellent and so many warm faces. My husband had a happy birthday. Glad we stayed.
Jose and Jodi C
7/30/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Awesome

We had a wonderful time with all of you and you made our 10th anniversary one to always remember! We have look at our next 10 years in a whole new way. We will see you soon and thanks again for a sweet and awesome stay.
Kelly and Sean K
7/16/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great Stay

Thank you for a great stay. Your staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the social hour was perfect to start our evenings. Our room was beautiful and clean. We will be back. Miami, FL
Maryann M
5/29/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Wonderful Stay

Thank you so much for such a great experience while in St. Augustine. Jeanne was wonderful and helped make our daughter's 1st Birthday so special. We will be back! Jamie and TJ, Wellington, FL
Jamie T
6/20/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Loved It!!

My Mom and I loved this place so very much!! It's cozy and welcoming, we will definitely be back!! Thank You!!
Jessica X
6/11/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (3 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

The best Bed and Breakfast

This inn is simply delightful and upon entering the inn the courtyard it is beautiful!! The jasmine was in full bloom when we arrived and it is an incredible welcome indeed. We did arrive before noon and the innkeepers were accommodating took our lugguge and gave us directions to the parking. They helped in mapping out a plan to see the must see's of the city. We were only there for two nights and it should have been longer but St Augustine has so much history there just was not enough time to see it all. We arrived later in the afternoon for the social hour which was wonderful it was a small amount of us in the dining room but just wonderful exchanging experiences with each other. The room we stayed in was the Francesca and it was beautiful and spaceous. They keep the room very clean, room service is offered daily which is plus for me because I am a bit of a germ freak. Our first breakfast was a spinach casserole with croissant and bacon. It was delicious!! My husband could not get enough. You must see the Flagler College what Mr. Tiffany could do with glass. The Spanish Colonial Quarter is a great learning experience a tour around a small village with tradesman of the day. We had a wonderful visit in St. Augustine and I loved where this inn was located in the quiet part of town on an artsy street and it was incredibly quaint. Thank you.
Barb x
4/15/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (3 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Great Weekend

Just spent a wonderful weekend in Rosa's room ... the staff is amazing (I could move in any time). This is the nicest place we have stayed in St Augustine and can't wait to go back. PS: Mexican social was WONDERFUL !!! Hope to be back soon .....Thanks for a great stay !!!
Carol S
3/25/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (2 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Lovely!!

My husband and I celebrated our 35th at your inn and could not have been happier. Lovely, lovely is the only word that comes to mind. Keep up the wonderful hospitality!!
Beatrice and Edmund P
2/4/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Awesome Stay!!

My husband and I spent our honeymoon and absolutely loved this place. We were there for four days and purchased one of their getaway specials which was a big savings for us because we added the massages as a special treat after the stress of the wedding. Rosa's room was beautiful and the fireplace made it all the more special. We stayed in January and the night's were cool when we stayed. The breakfasts were great a new dish every day and we especially loved the afternoon wine with other guests. Susan the housekeeper was accommodating to us because we stayed in a little to long sometimes. We are very happy and want to make this a yearly event for us!!
Miranda S
Miramar, FL

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - dinner
ask them to make your dinner reservations for you because they were right on the money with where not to eat I learned that the hard way.
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Thank you for the lovely

We had such a wonderful family visit with you. Thank you for the gracious hospitality and the delicious breakfasts. The room was beautiful and the lovely balcony made the stay all the more precious. It was a perfect stay and can’t wait to come back next year!!”
Lisa & David x
2/18/2011

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Thank you so much for the hospitality

We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We can’t think of a better way to celebrate our first anniversary. Thanks again for the recipes.”
Rachel and Eddie x
12/26/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

“Wow!! What a beautiful place

You were so gracious and friendly to me and my husband. You made our visit in St. Augustine so very special.”
Marsha and Gary x
11/18/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Won't stay here again.

We stayed here in 2 nights December with our 2 granddaughters in the Mary Mitchell room. The inn charged an additional $25 per child for the 2 breakfasts which I quite understood. I was advised of this additional fee when I made my reservation about 1 month in advance and had no problem with paying it. Then, at breakfast -- they clearly treated our granddaughters as second-class citizens by serving them only cold cereal and offering yogurt while the breakfast served for the adults included eggs, sausage. I did not understand why they felt that the "children" should have a different meal (cold cereal) from the adults (a hot breakfast). Even the adult breakfast was "minimal" and not at all the caliber and quality of food that I am used to being served at B&B's. The room was comfortable. However, on our second day, the housekeeping service did not provide fresh towels or even remove the dirty coffee cups/glasses from the room. Also, the attitude of the front desk and breakfast staff was less than friendly. There was no common "parlor" area or any place to relax in besides our room. Parking in St. Augustine is limited and this B&B does have their own parking lot -- about 4 blocks of walking away. Our stay here was not up to the level of experience and service that we have had at other B&B's.
Dawn Shreeve
Port Orange, FL
1/13/2009

Management Response
We remember this party because she made the reservation for two. This room has two queen beds. The following morning she had her grandchildren with her. The innkeeper served the adults first and then asked if the children would like the hot dish. They advised the innkeeper they will have the cereal. WE let the adults decide first because some parents are aware that the children won’t eat unfamiliar food. There are plenty of options for those who do not want the hot entrée. Cereals, breads, muffins, yogurt, juices are always provided. It was an option given to them. With respect to room service it had the do not disturb on the door we determined it was because they did not want us to know how many guests were staying in the room. Once we determined how many guests there were we did charge 25.00 and additional person but for one day only and not two. This has always been the inn’s policy. Respectively, Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Don't look further, this is it!

Got married at the St. Augustine courthouse last week, and decided to stay at a 'Bed and Breakfast', we did not know which one to pick. NOW WE DO! I called Jeff to check for availablity, and he still had a room. Based on that conversation, we decided to go to Casa de Solana. When we got there, it immidiately brought us to a different place in time. The building was built in 1808, and it has a great courtyard. This place is CLEAN! and we had a fantastic time strolling around town. The place is at the same block as the downtown square, so you are close to the nightlife, restaurants etc. Everything is walkable anyway. We went to social hour to drink a beer and some wine, had some snacks, and Jeff joined us. Get him to tell you the stories about other guests and how they had 'spritual' experiences! We thought it was very cool. Social hour is from 5 to 6 pm, and listening to old stories it quickly became 7 o'clock, just in time for chocolate cake and other desert.... We stayed in Rosa's room, huge bed (sleep numbers), mini fridge, tv, and big HOT TUB! At night we'd stay on the balcony and relax, while you look out at the courtyard, and the victorian houses across the street, very cool indeed. Breakfast was great too, Marilyn made a great hot breakfast with fruit, and different ones for the 2 mornings we stayed, starbucks coffee, juices, cereal etc. Don't look further, we won't, and we'll be back next year for the anniversary, if not sooner.
Dennie
7/17/2008

My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Bed, Breakfast, and Bikes

We were so happy to have found Casa de Solana on the internet. Two things attracted us to it: location in the old part of the city, and bicycles available. But it turned out to be much more....charming, great and varied foods for breakfasts, wine and cheese at 5, plus its very pleasant owners, Jeff and Luis, and Marilyn, their innkeeper. We highly recommend Casa de Solana and hope we can return there one day!
Dr. and Mrs. James Nyberg
6/28/2008

My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

31 Review(s)
97% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Other Ratings: "3 AAA Diamonds, ""3 Mobil Stars, "iLoveInns Guests

Publicity and Press Reviews

Times Union, House Beautiful, Palm Beach Post, Innsider, North Florida Living, Jacksonville Today, PM Magazine.


Discussion

Nearby Inns

Saragossa Inn
34 Saragossa St, Saint Augustine, FL (5.0 miles)
Centennial House
26 Cordova St, Saint Augustine, FL (5.1 miles)
Castle Garden B&B
15 Shenandoah St, Saint Augustine, FL (5.2 miles)
Casablanca Inn on The Bay
24 Avenida Menedez, Saint Augustine, FL (5.3 miles)
St. Francis Inn
279 Saint George St, Saint Augustine, FL (5.4 miles)