Home > Texas B&Bs > Rockport Bed and Breakfast Inns > Anthony's By The Sea

732 S Pearl St, Rockport, TX 78382-2420, USA    
(800) 460-2557, (361) 729-6100
  • Free Night Participating Inn
 
 

Photos

  1. Our Neighborhood Peacock "Mr. P"...
  2. Fiesta Suite - This suite is casual, comfortable and accommodates a couple or fa...
  3. Fiesta Suite - The suite has a private entrance off the carport and includes a ...
  4. Fiesta Suite - This suite includes a dining table, wet- bar, 2-burner range-top,...
  5. Fiesta Suite - This large living area includes a queen size pull-out couch. Pets...
  6. Guest House - This cottage includes separate living area with a pull-out double ...
  7. Guest House - This cottage features a private entrance just off the patio and in...
  8. Guest House - This 1- bedroom cottage sleeps 6 and includes 2 double beds, priva...
  9. Guest House - includes a private entrance off the patio....
  10. Honeymoon Suite - Features a queen-bed, private bath, and a semi-private entranc...
  11. Honeymoon Suite - features a coffee bar with microwave, small refrigerator, sink...
  12. Honeymoon Suite - enjoy the view through the picture window in the private sitti...

$125
- $145


Book a Room $125 - $145

Send as Postcard

Visit Website

     

4 based on 6 reviews
See all Reviews
Write a Review

Tell the Innkeeper that
iLoveInns sent you!

Innkeeper/s:

Smitty, Beth Smith

Visit their website for
additional information!

Description

Circa 1953. Anthony’s by the Sea is secluded among the Live Oaks in historic South Rockport near Aransas Bay. Discover amenities on the property such as a gazebo, water fountain, swimming pool, covered patio and grill in a beautiful, natural environment. Enjoy being spoiled on weekend mornings with a gourmet breakfast served in the dining area or on the patio. Daily, weekly, and monthly rates are available. Anthony’s is near Rockport Beach, downtown shops and museums and adjacent to the Zachary Taylor Arboretum Park. Rockport is popular for birding, fishing, kayaking and sailing. Special Memories – No extra charge!

For more information visit the website.

Rates

$125 to $145

Off Season: $104 to $135

Payment Types Accepted Include Visa, Personal Checks, Master Card, Discover, Travelers Checks and Cash.

Amenities

This property has 3 total guest accommodations with private bath, 1 guest house and 1 conference room. The types of beds available include Double, Queen and King.

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable TV
  • Coffeemaker
  • Family/Kid Friendly
  • Free parking on premise
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron/Ironing Board
  • Pool
  • Refrigerator
  • Swimming
  • Television
  • Wireless Internet Access

Events Hosted

    • Romantic Getaways
    • Meetings
    • Honeymoons
    • Family Reunions
    • Weddings
    • Seminars

Pet Restrictions

Small breeds are welcome with prior notice! We request a $20 per pet per visit fee. Innkeepers have outdoor cats on the property.
  • Pets Allowed
  • Innkeepers pets on premises
  • Small Breeds Are Welcome With Prior Notice! We Request A $20 Per Pet Per Visit Fee. Innkeepers Have Outdoor Cats On The Property

Romantic Interest

Secluded among the Live Oaks in historic South Rockport near Aransas Bay, Anthony's B&B provides a quiet retreat with little or no traffic noise. Celebrate your anniversary, birthday or a special night out with a romantic dinner for two in our gazebo, patio or dining area. (24-hour prior reservation requested)

What's Green About Your Inn

We recycle! aluminum cans, paper, plastic, etc.

Describe Garden and Grounds

Boasting Sago palms and Live Oak trees, Anthony’s garden is a great place to see birds, squirrels and butterflies in their natural environment. Located on 2/3 acre, the backyard is fully fenced and includes a swimming pool, patio and fountain. The front yard features a gazebo and lush tropical foliage. Private parking under the carport is available for guests.

Reservation/Cancellation Policies:

Minimum Stay Requirements

2 night minimum stay on summer weekends and 3-night minimum stay on holidays and holiday weekends.

Children Restrictions

We welcome children of all ages! We request prior notification and an additional $15 per night per extra person in room, age 7 and up. No charge for age 6 and under.

Cancellation

72 hour

Check-in/Check-out

2 pm or later / noon


Other Activities

    • Parks
    • Antiquing
    • Fishing
    • Canoeing/Kayaking
    • Birdwatching
    • Beaches
    • Shopping (Local Crafts)

Historic Interest

Anthony's is adjacent to the historic Zachary Taylor Arboretum Park. Zachary Taylor's army camped in this area on their way to fight the Mexican/American War. Traveling with him were his lieutenants Robert E Lee, Stonewall Jackson, Ulysses S Grant and William T Sherman.

Historic sites nearby:

Fulton Mansion (6 miles)

Get a Free Night at this inn

The dates this property will honor the certificate are Anytime, subject to availability,NO holidays or holiday weekends.

- One Night Free: This property is featured as participating in the iLoveinns.com Buy-One-Night-Get-One-Night-Free program.


Write a review

Romantic Getaway

This is the second time that we have stayed at this Inn within the last few months. We LOVE it! Great atmosphere and extremely relaxing. Beth and Smitty are the best! You feel like you are in the comfort of your own home. Will definitely be going back there!! Would highly recommend this B&B.
Lynda Smith
Tyler, TX

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Magical 25th Wedding Anniversary at This Bed & Breakfast

Thank you all for making our 25th anniversary a truly magical time at yoour inn. You have no idea how special you have made our stay. Thank you Smitty and Beth for everything and we hope to be back as soon as we can get away again. God Bless you all
James & Tammy J
11/1/2016

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Quiet, clean, and friendly

I stayed four nights at Anthonys by myself as a needed getaway. The relaxed, no hassle, and friendly atmosphere gave me the respite I needed. Great breakfasts, privacy, clean bathroom and bedroom and covered free parking. In a quiet residential neighborhood. This is a ranch style home with additional rooms in other buildings. Not upscale, but downhome casual and comfort. The firm bed was to die for! I slept better than I have in months. Easy access to the beach either by walking or biking maybe a mile, and right next to the quaint historic downtown for shopping and coffee bars. Very nice people.
P M

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - Anthonys and Rockport
Anthonys is the perfect place to take about 6 or 8 people and have a really fun relaxed time together. They have an excellent covered back porch for eating or having a few drinks and a full kitchen they will assist you with. Spend the day in the sun,catch fish, cook fish, sip wine or other cool drinks on the porch, and have privacy from any other vacationers! In Rockport the city beach is really nice, the local fishing great, kayaking, swimming, and some decent shopping. Poor Man's Country Club had the best Blackened Fish Tacos!!
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

RE-laxed re-TREAT

WOW.....What a joy to find this little "piece of heaven" and only 2 1/2 hours away from home! After a rough week at work, Anthony's by the Sea is just a perfect answer to a mini vacation without all the hectic pace and demands of a big city rat race! We enjoyed a great night of rest and woke up to a Breakfast, made to order and fit for a KING & QUEEN! We will definitely be returning in the future and in the meantime, several friends have already booked their stays here as well!
Kay C
San Antonio, TX
8/13/2010

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - gourmet dinner
just as a side note, if you are too tired to go out to dinner, inquire about having Smitty & Beth cook a gourmet dinner and serve it in your room or outside on the beautiful patio....who knows, you may also spot "Mr. P" roaming the grounds.....(the locally adopted peacock, that is)....lol
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Holiday from England

Hi, we are the Taylor family who live in the northeast of England. We have traveled to Rockport Texas to Anthony's by the sea six or seven times. As you can imagine, it’s a long way, about five and a half thousand miles, each way. We started with all the family, three boys, Liz and myself. Over the years as the boys grew up, they quit coming with us. The bed and breakfast is and always was very, very good. It’s not one of those places where you feel as you must be so careful and you cannot sit on the furniture. It’s a homey and friendly place and the food is top notch. Most of all the people are friendly and will go out of their way to help. The neighbours are great, all take the time to talk to the Brits. We all think that Rockport is a small piece of paradise and it has everything we need for a wonderful holiday and top it all Anthony's by the sea is a very safe place to stay. I myself was a British gas engineer for forty-one years and had contact with the public everyday. Some people are impossible to please, they nit pick and will complain about everything. What did the other guests have to say when this person complained about the b and b? As a engineer we had a word for people who nit pick, twist, moan, rattle on, complain and are generally above their station. Sorry to go on about it but its not true that the b and b is a bad place to stay. One last note, our youngest boy Shaun has Downs Syndrome and can be a little so and so. The b and b has always welcomed him and us with open arms. We the tailors trust and enjoyed all our holidays at Anthony's by the sea and will continue to do so. Thanks for your time in reading this.
Mick Taylor
11/4/2009

My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Anthony's in the hood

As they say in the world of real estate location is everything. Well, the first thing you'll notice about Anthony's by the Sea is that it is NOT by the sea. It is in the projects. The neighborhood is scary, but ever the expolrers, we hoped for a diamond in the rough as we parked and went inside. Things didn't get much better. The property needs some SERIOUS landscaping.You could tell that once (long, long ago) it was well maintainted, but that was another time. There is a peacock that roams the yard, it is beautiful (but it turns out peacocks make a strange noise similar to a combination bird call and a cat's meaow right outside the window of whatever room you happen to be trying to sleep in). Upon entering the house, one word comes to mind...clutter. There is just too much stuff all about the place. The innkeepers were very personable and seemed to be genuine, nice ladys who were in over their heads running a b&b. At this point the only thing keeping me there was the rule requiring me to pre-pay for the holiday weekend. Our room had dirty carpet, and old (not antique just old) furniture. The A/C vents were all furry with mildew (I have pictures) The next morning breakfast was late which made some of the other guests miss scheduled excursions. Despite the fact we paid for the long weekend, we stayed one night and left the next afternoon.
Jeff Caynon
9/13/2009

Management Response
We want to say how very sorry we are that you had a disappointing stay at Anthony’s. While we could address all of your concerns, we prefer to stress that communication is the key. We are always accessible to our guests, and do our best to remedy any uncomfortable situation or special needs; from early breakfasts or special dietary needs to a refund, cheerfully given, if necessary. Having NOT been notified of any discomfort, or even notified of an early departure, we simply exercised our right to enforce our holiday non-refund policy. However, we certainly don’t intend to “force” anyone to stay that is unhappy. We know we can’t please everyone, but we hope that you will come again and give us a second chance. Here are a few excerpts from our guest book: This place is an oasis in the middle of a stressed world… Much thanks for your hospitality, great food and accommodations… We loved the Honeymoon Suite and feel so relaxed and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!… Fascinating mix of guests, quaint and cozy room, great food and great landscaping… Where else can you sit and have breakfast while watching “Mr. P” the peacock preen himself. A delightful home away from home with a warm welcome and delicious breakfast…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
     Location
     Comfort
     Condition
     Cleanliness
     Service
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

6 Review(s)
83% would stay again
Add your review
     
Excellent

Very Good

Average

Poor

Terrible

Publicity and Press Reviews

New York Times.


Discussion