Home > Texas B&Bs > Rockport Bed and Breakfast Inns > Anthony's By The Sea

732 S Pearl St, Rockport, TX 78382-2420, USA    
(800) 460-2557, (361) 729-6100
  • Free Night Participating Inn


  1. Front Drive...
  2. Covered Lanai...
  3. Common Dining Area...
  4. Common Living Room...
  5. Honeymoon Suite...
  6. Single Queen-Size Room (Part of 2-Bedroom Family Suite)...
  7. Singe Double-Size Room (Part of 2-Bedroom Family Suite)...
  8. Fiesta Suite Bedroom...
  9. Guest House Living Room...
  10. Guest House Kitchen...
  11. Guest House Bedroom...
  12. Our Neighborhood Peacock "Mr. P"...

- $145

Book a Room $115 - $145

Send as Postcard

Visit Website


3 based on 4 reviews
See all Reviews
Write a Review

Tell the Innkeeper that
iLoveInns sent you!


Smitty, Beth Smith

Visit their website for
additional information!


Circa 1953. This quiet, casual retreat is hidden away beneath huge oak trees, near the ocean in an area known as the Texas Riviera. Choose from comfortably furnished single rooms or suites with private baths and sitting areas. Separate guest house has a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living area and sleeps up to six, making it ideal for families and small groups. A sparkling pool and covered lanai provide the most popular areas for relaxing or enjoying the gourmet breakfasts. Located within walking distance of Rockport Beach, a variety of water activities are available, as well as local shopping, restaurants and museums.

For more information visit the website.


$115 to $145

Off Season: $95 to $130

Payment Types Accepted Include Visa, Personal Checks, Master Card, Discover, Travelers Checks and Cash.


This property has 4 total guest accommodations, 3 with private bath, 1 two-bedroom suite, 1 guest house and 1 conference room. The types of beds available include Double, Queen and King.

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cable TV
  • Family/Kid Friendly
  • Free parking on premise
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron/Ironing Board
  • Pool
  • Refrigerator
  • Swimming
  • Television
  • Wireless Internet Access

Events Hosted

    • Romantic Getaways
    • Meetings
    • Honeymoons
    • Family Reunions
    • Weddings
    • Seminars

Pet Restrictions

With prior notice in 2 outside rooms only (Fiesta Suite and Guest House). $20 per pet per visit. Some breeds not allowed. Innkeepers have cats on the Lanai.
  • Pets Allowed
  • With Prior Notice In 2 Outside Rooms Only (fiesta Suite
  • Guest House). $20 Per Pet Per Visit. Some Breeds Not Allowed. Innkeepers Have Cats On The Lanai

Romantic Interest

Very secluded residential street with no traffic noise. Small, so very limited occupancy. Romantic dinners available with 24 hour reservation.

What's Green About Your Inn

We recycle everything we can, including aluminum cans, newspaper, plastic, cardboard and plastic bags.

Describe Garden and Grounds

We have 2/3 acre, fully fenced backyard with very lush tropical foliage. The front gardens have 40 year old Sago Palms and both front and back yards have 200 - 700 year old Live Oak trees. We have a small swimming pool and the covered Lanai has a fountain. There is covered parking in the carport.

Reservation/Cancellation Policies:

Minimum Stay Requirements

2 night minimum stay on summer weekends and 3-night minimum stay on holidays and holiday weekends.

Children Restrictions

With prior notice. Additional $15 per night per extra person in room, age 7 and up. No charge for age 6 and under.


72 hour


2 pm or later / noon

Other Activities

    • Birdwatching

Historic Interest

Next door to historic Zachary Taylor Park. Zachary Taylor's army camped in this area on their way to fight the Mexican/American War. His Lieutenants with him were Robert E Lee, Stonewall Jackson, Ulysses S Grant and William T Sherman.

Historic sites nearby:

Fulton Mansion (6 miles)

Get a Free Night at this inn

The dates this property will honor the certificate are Anytime, subject to availability,NO holidays or holiday weekends.

- One Night Free: This property is featured as participating in the iLoveinns.com Buy-One-Night-Get-One-Night-Free program.

Write a review

Quiet, clean, and friendly

I stayed four nights at Anthonys by myself as a needed getaway. The relaxed, no hassle, and friendly atmosphere gave me the respite I needed. Great breakfasts, privacy, clean bathroom and bedroom and covered free parking. In a quiet residential neighborhood. This is a ranch style home with additional rooms in other buildings. Not upscale, but downhome casual and comfort. The firm bed was to die for! I slept better than I have in months. Easy access to the beach either by walking or biking maybe a mile, and right next to the quaint historic downtown for shopping and coffee bars. Very nice people.

My ratings for this property      
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - Anthonys and Rockport
Anthonys is the perfect place to take about 6 or 8 people and have a really fun relaxed time together. They have an excellent covered back porch for eating or having a few drinks and a full kitchen they will assist you with. Spend the day in the sun,catch fish, cook fish, sip wine or other cool drinks on the porch, and have privacy from any other vacationers! In Rockport the city beach is really nice, the local fishing great, kayaking, swimming, and some decent shopping. Poor Man's Country Club had the best Blackened Fish Tacos!!
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

RE-laxed re-TREAT

WOW.....What a joy to find this little "piece of heaven" and only 2 1/2 hours away from home! After a rough week at work, Anthony's by the Sea is just a perfect answer to a mini vacation without all the hectic pace and demands of a big city rat race! We enjoyed a great night of rest and woke up to a Breakfast, made to order and fit for a KING & QUEEN! We will definitely be returning in the future and in the meantime, several friends have already booked their stays here as well!
Kay C
San Antonio, TX

My ratings for this property      
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
InnSide Tip - gourmet dinner
just as a side note, if you are too tired to go out to dinner, inquire about having Smitty & Beth cook a gourmet dinner and serve it in your room or outside on the beautiful patio....who knows, you may also spot "Mr. P" roaming the grounds.....(the locally adopted peacock, that is)....lol
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Holiday from England

Hi, we are the Taylor family who live in the northeast of England. We have traveled to Rockport Texas to Anthony's by the sea six or seven times. As you can imagine, it’s a long way, about five and a half thousand miles, each way. We started with all the family, three boys, Liz and myself. Over the years as the boys grew up, they quit coming with us. The bed and breakfast is and always was very, very good. It’s not one of those places where you feel as you must be so careful and you cannot sit on the furniture. It’s a homey and friendly place and the food is top notch. Most of all the people are friendly and will go out of their way to help. The neighbours are great, all take the time to talk to the Brits. We all think that Rockport is a small piece of paradise and it has everything we need for a wonderful holiday and top it all Anthony's by the sea is a very safe place to stay. I myself was a British gas engineer for forty-one years and had contact with the public everyday. Some people are impossible to please, they nit pick and will complain about everything. What did the other guests have to say when this person complained about the b and b? As a engineer we had a word for people who nit pick, twist, moan, rattle on, complain and are generally above their station. Sorry to go on about it but its not true that the b and b is a bad place to stay. One last note, our youngest boy Shaun has Downs Syndrome and can be a little so and so. The b and b has always welcomed him and us with open arms. We the tailors trust and enjoyed all our holidays at Anthony's by the sea and will continue to do so. Thanks for your time in reading this.
Mick Taylor

My ratings for this property      
BOTTOM LINE: I would stay here again.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (0 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

Anthony's in the hood

As they say in the world of real estate location is everything. Well, the first thing you'll notice about Anthony's by the Sea is that it is NOT by the sea. It is in the projects. The neighborhood is scary, but ever the expolrers, we hoped for a diamond in the rough as we parked and went inside. Things didn't get much better. The property needs some SERIOUS landscaping.You could tell that once (long, long ago) it was well maintainted, but that was another time. There is a peacock that roams the yard, it is beautiful (but it turns out peacocks make a strange noise similar to a combination bird call and a cat's meaow right outside the window of whatever room you happen to be trying to sleep in). Upon entering the house, one word comes to mind...clutter. There is just too much stuff all about the place. The innkeepers were very personable and seemed to be genuine, nice ladys who were in over their heads running a b&b. At this point the only thing keeping me there was the rule requiring me to pre-pay for the holiday weekend. Our room had dirty carpet, and old (not antique just old) furniture. The A/C vents were all furry with mildew (I have pictures) The next morning breakfast was late which made some of the other guests miss scheduled excursions. Despite the fact we paid for the long weekend, we stayed one night and left the next afternoon.
Jeff Caynon

Management Response
We want to say how very sorry we are that you had a disappointing stay at Anthony’s. While we could address all of your concerns, we prefer to stress that communication is the key. We are always accessible to our guests, and do our best to remedy any uncomfortable situation or special needs; from early breakfasts or special dietary needs to a refund, cheerfully given, if necessary. Having NOT been notified of any discomfort, or even notified of an early departure, we simply exercised our right to enforce our holiday non-refund policy. However, we certainly don’t intend to “force” anyone to stay that is unhappy. We know we can’t please everyone, but we hope that you will come again and give us a second chance. Here are a few excerpts from our guest book: This place is an oasis in the middle of a stressed world… Much thanks for your hospitality, great food and accommodations… We loved the Honeymoon Suite and feel so relaxed and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!… Fascinating mix of guests, quaint and cozy room, great food and great landscaping… Where else can you sit and have breakfast while watching “Mr. P” the peacock preen himself. A delightful home away from home with a warm welcome and delicious breakfast…
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.
My ratings for this property      
Did you find this review helpful? Yes (1 votes)
This review is the subjective opinion of an iLoveInns.com user and not of iLoveInns.com or American Historic Inns, Inc.

At A Glance

4 Review(s)
75% would stay again
Add your review

Very Good




Publicity and Press Reviews

New York Times.